Starting on January 1, 2018, the Las Vegas live entertainment industry must comply with new health and safety rules. Nevada Assembly Bill 190, signed into law in May, amends the state’s occupational health and safety (OSHA) laws to reduce the likelihood of accidents at shows or during rehearsals.
AB 190 requires special training courses for certain entertainment employees
New training requirements are at the heart of AB 190. From January 1, covered employees are required to complete a 10-hour (OSHA-10) or 30-hour (OSHA-30) training course, with the longer course required for supervisory employees. Employees must complete the appropriate course within 15 days of hire. The courses provide training on general industry safety rules. They are developed by the U.S. Department of Labor and administered in Nevada by the Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) within the Division of Industrial Relations. SCATS will be offering courses for free in the early part of 2018.
AB 190 only applies to certain employees involved in the live entertainment industry. Specifically, it captures workers whose primary occupation on site involves the construction, installation, maintenance, operation, repair, or removal of:
- Theatrical scenery, rigging, or props;
- Wardrobe, hair, or makeup;
- Audio, camera, projection, video, or lighting equipment; or
- Any other items or parts which are related to or components of the above items, and which are used in conjunction with the presentation or production of:
- Live entertainment;
- Filmmaking or photography;
- Television programs;
- Sporting events; or
- Theatrical performances.
Employers and workers should note that the rule doesn’t require unpaid workers, like volunteers or interns, to undergo training.
Ongoing compliance requirements
After completing the required course, employees will receive a completion card issued by the Division of Industrial Relations. The card is good for five years, after which the employee needs to take a refresher course or meeting the law’s continuing education requirements: at least 5 hours of training for OSHA-10 employees and at least 15 hours for OSHA-30 employees.
AB 190 requires employers to suspend or terminate any covered employee who fails to complete the required training within 15 days of hire. Employers who fail to follow this rule are subject to fines.
As a proud member of the Las Vegas community, the law firm of Greenman Goldberg Raby Martinez is glad to know that workers in the live entertainment industry will be safer in 2018. If you have questions about Nevada’s OSHA requirements, our experienced team of attorneys is here to help. Reach out to us today at 702-388-4476, or send us a request through our site.