If you have a teenager who is eager to earn a driver’s license, then a classic push-and-pull is probably underway in your home: he or she is desperate to get behind the wheel of a car while you’d like to steer the child back to baby shoes.
Deep down, you know you cannot delay the inevitable forever. You can provide the guidance they need to comply with Nevada laws and remain safe.
Follow the guidance of the most experienced auto lawyers in Las Vegas, Greenman, Goldberg, Raby and Martinez, to ensure your teen follows the rules of the road.
First, your teen needs a permit to drive
As your teen probably has already told you (500 times), he or she is eligible to receive an instruction permit when they’re 15 ½ years old. (And yes; the state counts those six months precisely.) At a local department of motor vehicles facility, your teen must provide:
- A U.S.-issued birth certificate
- A Social Security card
- Two documents that provide proof of address
Then your teen needs driving experience
The fun part for your teen is chalking up 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience. To help prepare you, the auto lawyers in Las Vegas at Greenman, Goldberg, Raby and Martinez recommend the Parents Supervised Driving Guide, which contains detailed lessons and driving tips.
This guide also will remind you while your teen accumulates the 50 hours, he or she cannot go it alone; he or she must be accompanied at all times by someone who:
- Is at least 21 years old
- Is a licensed driver
- Has been licensed for at least one year
Ten of the 50 hours must be completed in darkness, and all the hours must be logged with the dates and time duration of each behind-the-wheel experience. The DMV offers downloadable log sheets and it must be presented at the DMV before your teen can take the skills test – the precursor to earning a driver’s license. The DMV will accept no other log, and it must be signed by a parent or guardian.
Your teen must have a clean record to apply for a license
Once your teen is 16 years old, he or she can apply for a state driver’s license. In addition, the six months preceding the application, he or she must:
- Hold an instruction permit
- Incur no at-fault car accidents
- Incur no moving violation convictions
- Incur no alcohol or drug convictions
Auto lawyers in Las Vegas prepare you for the driving skills test
The auto lawyers in Las Vegas at Greenman, Goldberg, Raby and Martinez remind you to accompany your teen to the DMV to take the driving skills test. You’ll have to sign a financial responsibility statement on his or her behalf – and bring a registered, insured vehicle. Your teen also must provide their:
- Instruction permit
- Proof of identity
- Driver’s education certificate
- The DMV-sanctioned log sheets or phone app, ready to print
Assuming your teen passes the skills test, your journey will be complete and he or she will become a licensed driver in the state of Nevada. Along the way, the auto lawyers in Las Vegas at Greenman, Goldberg, Raby and Martinez know you may have questions. We understand what it’s like to steer your child from a car seat to the driver’s seat – and we’ll do everything we can to help make this rite of passage as painless as possible. If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident call 702-388-4476 for a free consultation.