When you have been injured on the job, it is important to begin the process of filing for workers’ compensation right away. Many of the steps you must complete in order to receive compensation for your injury are time sensitive with a quick deadline. GGRM, the workers’ comp attorneys in Las Vegas walk you through the steps you should take to start the workers’ comp process following a work injury.
Notify Your Employer
The first step you should take in the workers’ comp process is notifying your employer of the injury. Generally, this notification should be provided to someone in a managerial position at your workplace.
In the state of Nevada, you have seven days following the accident to provide your employer with a written notice, using the “C-1 Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease Form (Incident Report)”. For occupational diseases, the seven day time frame begins the moment the condition is determined to have been caused by your work. Turning in your notice late or failing to provide any notice at all may result in your workers’ comp claim being denied.
Sometimes your doctor will ask you to file a workers’ compensation form that will notify your employer and insurance of the injury. Even if this happens, it is still a good idea to personally provide notice to your employer to ensure they are aware of the situation.
Filing the Report
Once you have notified your employer of the incident, they will then need to file a “C-3 Employer’s Report of Industrial Injury or Occupational Disease” form and submit it to the Nevada Department of Industrial Relations. Your employer will need to also notify their workers’ comp insurance carrier.
You will need to complete and submit a “C-4 Employee’s Claim for Compensation – Report of Initial Treatment” form. You have up to 90 days following the accident to submit this form. Once the insurance company receives this form, they will approve or reject your claim within 30 days.
Following these steps will allow your workers’ comp claim to begin. Once approved this coverage will cover your medical bills, as well as paying temporary disability checks.
Unfortunately, sometimes claims are denied or disputed. If you disagree with your insurance company’s decision to reject the claim, you have the right to file an appeal within 70 days with the Department of Administration. You should contact knowledgeable and experienced workers’ comp attorneys in Las Vegas to assist you with this process. Your case will be presented in front of a Hearing Officer, who will issue a decision on the case. The Hearing Officer’s decision may be appealed within 30 days.
Contact the Workers’ Comp Attorneys in Las Vegas
If you need workers’ comp attorneys in Las Vegas to assist you with processing your workers’ comp claim, contact GGRM Law Firm. Our Las Vegas workers’ comp attorneys have been handling workers’ comp cases for more than 45 years and will stand by you to get the compensation you deserve. Call GGRM at 702-388-4476 for a free consultation today.