The laws regarding how and when a car accident must be reported vary greatly from state to state. If you have been involved in a car accident in Nevada, here are your legal obligations regarding filing an accident report. Contacting Las Vegas car accident attorneys can answer any questions you may have if you've been injured in a car accident.
When Should the Accident Be Reported?
After being involved in a Nevada accident that caused damage to a vehicle or other property and/or resulted in the injury or death of a person, the driver needs to report the accident immediately. Ideally, the driver will call for emergency services using a cell phone or pay phone located near the scene of the wreck.
If there is no phone available and the vehicle is still drivable, the driver should proceed immediately to the nearest police station or Nevada Highway Patrol office. If the vehicle is not functioning, the driver should report the accident by telephone immediately upon returning home.
Do I Also Need to File a Written Accident Report?
If a police officer investigated the accident, there is no need for the driver to file an additional written accident report, provided the officer's report includes the driver's auto insurance policy information.
A written or electronic accident report is required if either:
- A police officer did not investigate the accident
- The police report does not include the driver's automobile insurance information
The accident must also have resulted in either:
- Bodily injury or death of a person
- $750 or more total damage to a vehicle or property.
If an accident report is required, the written or electronic accident report must be filed with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the wreck. A vehicle damage claim must be attached if the accident caused damage to a vehicle. This claim should include an estimate of repairs or statement of total loss from an insurance adjuster, appraiser, or garage.
What if My Injuries Prohibit Me from Making a Report?
If there was a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the accident, they should file the accident report (provided their injuries allow them to do so) if the driver is physically incapable of doing so themselves.
If the driver was driving a vehicle that is owned by someone else, the owner must file the accident report within 10 days of hearing about the accident.
If the driver is unable to file the report due to physical injuries and the aforementioned conditions to not apply, the driver can wait until they are physically capable to file the report.
What Happens if I Fail to File the Accident Report?
Filing an accident report is not a task to take lightly. If the driver willfully fails to file an accident report, the state of Nevada may suspend the driver's license for up to one year.
Contact Las Vegas Car Accident Attorneys
If you would like to know more about your legal rights and responsibilities after being involved in a car accident, call the Las Vegas car accident attorneys of GGRM at 702-388-GGRM (4476) to schedule your free consultation.