Being in a car accident is upsetting, but it's even worse if you're the victim of a hit-and-run. You may be driving your car when another car hits you and the driver flees without stopping. Or your car could be hit while it's parked, and the person who hit your car is nowhere to be found.
In hit-and-run cases, you may not know what to do or how to go about getting reimbursed for your damages or injuries. Greenman, Goldberg, Raby and Martinez, experienced personal injury lawyers in Las Vegas, offer the following advice:
Laws governing hit-and-run accidents in Nevada
Nevada law requires drivers involved in collisions to exchange information, and if someone is hurt, you must render aid if you're able to do so. For an accident that caused property damage but no injuries, penalties start at up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000 and six points on your license. Penalties for felony hit-and-run accidents causing injury or death include two to 15 years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000 and possible license suspension or revocation.
In addition, Nevada law requires the police be notified about a car accident that causes death, injury, or property damage of $750 or more. The legislature has also passed a law that treats hit-and-run drivers who cause substantial bodily harm or property damage the same as drivers who are under the influence.
What if you're the victim of a hit and run?
If you were present when your car was hit, try to get any information about the car that you can. Could you make out any license plate numbers? Do you know the color, make, and model of the other car? If you're physically able, try to get contact information from anyone who may have seen the accident. They may be able to back up your account of the incident and also provide details you may have missed.
Document your damage
Make notes while the accident is still fresh in your mind, and take pictures of the damage and surrounding area. Also check to see if security cameras in the area may have captured footage of the accident.
Notify the police and your insurance company
You'll need to notify the police and your insurance company as soon as possible so they can investigate the accident.
Contact personal injury lawyers in Las Vegas
Personal injury lawyers in Las Vegas can help you navigate the legal and insurance process so you'll have the best possible chance of receiving compensation for your injuries and property damage.
If you've been the victim of a hit-and-run accident, contact GGRM today at 702-388-GGRM (4476) for a free consultation. Our Las Vegas personal injury lawyers have your back after a hit-and-run, and will help you get the compensation you deserve.