Tag Archives: accident reporting

Latest Posts

Archives

Categories

Tags Cloud

A Driver’s Obligations to Report Car Accidents in Nevada

Nevada law imposes a number of requirements on drivers who have been in an accident. Everyone who drives in the state should understand these obligations so they can be prepared to comply with them in the event of an accident. Failing to follow the law can result in significant penalties, including a suspended license. For someone who has been injured in an accident, if the at-fault party fails to comply with the rules it can strengthen the case when filing a lawsuit to recover compensation. Anyone involved in an accident in Nevada needs to follow these rules:
  • Do not leave the scene. Failing to do so may constitute a hit-and-run violation.
  • The drivers involved in an accident must exchange certain personal information: name, address, driver’s license number, license plate numbers, and auto insurance carrier information.
  • If anyone was injured in the accident, call 911 and take reasonable steps to stabilize the injury before emergency responders arrive.
Nevada drivers may also have an obligation to file a separate accident report with the Nevada DMV. Such an obligation arises after accidents that are not investigated by police and that either caused property damage exceeding $750, or that resulted in a personal injury or death. In practical terms, an accident involving serious injury or death will almost certainly be investigated by police, who will arrive on the scene not long after a call is made to request emergency medical care. But one can imagine cases where an accident could take place that doesn’t require a 911 call, but does lead to injuries that require care or damage to a vehicle in excess of the $750 threshold. Accidents are reported to the DMV on Form SR-1. The form must be submitted within 10 days of the accident. It requires disclosure of the time and location of the accident, the names of the people involved (including pedestrians and cyclists), and a detailed description of the damage caused by the accident. It also needs to be accompanied by a physician’s report about any personal injuries that were suffered in the accident. Failing to file a required report can result in a one-year license suspension, and knowingly providing incorrect information is a crime. For over 45 years the law firm of Greenman Goldberg Raby Martinez has represented Las Vegas clients in auto accident cases. We are happy to provide you with a free attorney consultation about your case. Call us at 702-388-4476 or send us a request through our site.

Important Changes to Accident Reporting Requirements for Nevada Employers

Recent changes to accident reporting laws add important new obligations for Nevada employers when an employee gets seriously hurt on the job. When an employee is critically injured or killed in an accident, it can be easy to forget statutory reporting requirements amidst the flurry of insurance paperwork, potential need to cooperate with law enforcement, and concerns for the wellbeing of the affected employees and their families. But employers need to remember that a report must be filed with the Nevada Division of Industrial Relations very quickly following a major accident to ensure that state inspectors have access to fresh evidence and information.

New accident reporting deadlines and scope

Assembly Bill 24 went into effect on October 1, 2017, amending the reporting rules set out in NRS 618.378 to bring Nevada into line with federal rules. The new rules retain the long-standing obligation of an employer to report an accident involving an employee fatality within 8 hours of learning of the accident. But Assembly Bill 24 changed the reporting deadline and scope of reportable non-fatal accidents. Unlike the old rule, which only required reports for accidents involving three or more employees, the new law requires employers to report a serious accident involving even one employee. Reportable injuries include anything requiring the employee’s inpatient hospitalization, amputation of part of an employee’s body, or the loss of an eye. Employers must report all such accidents to the Division of Industrial Relations within 24 hours after first learning of the accident. Although the change from the old 8-hour deadline for reporting non-fatal accidents is a welcome reprieve for employers, it still leaves little time for compliance.

What goes into an accident report

An accident report to the Division of Industrial Relations needs to specify the name of the employer, the location and time of the accident, the number and names of employees with reportable injuries, a brief description of the accident, and the name of a contact at the employer. The Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Administration is instructing employers to report accidents by phone. After the report is filed, the law provides that an inspector from the Division of Industrial Relations will inspect the scene of the accident within 8 hours. For decades, GGRM has been helping members of the Las Vegas community work through the challenges associated with workplace injuries. We are here to help workers who are injured protect their rights and get the care they deserve. If you or a love one has been injured on the job, we’d like to help. For a free consultation with one of our attorneys, give us a call at 702-388-4476 or visit our website.